Author Topic: Weird WinXP Issues  (Read 4874 times)

KnacK

• Global Moderator
  • Autococker
Re: Weird WinXP Issues
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2008, 05:37:29 AM »
If you remove it and reinstall it ( from device manager) does it say the make/model of the device/chipset?

Zorchenhimer

• Autococker
« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2008, 05:25:03 PM »
Holy crap.  I just need to redo the end of the ethernet wire.  >.<

Apparently the wire is in bad shape.  It looks fine, but if I move it around the looping stops or starts, depending on the position.  :P

KnacK

• Global Moderator
  • Autococker
« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2008, 08:49:12 PM »
gj on finding that error.  It happens more than you think.

mewa

• 68 Carbine
« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2008, 02:05:29 AM »
i'm no expert, but i think i've had a similar issue. what i ended up deciding was that my issue involved write caching and power loss/crash. messed up my index, and excrement hit the fan from there. you try to do chkdsk and defrag, but it only makes it worse. reformat should clear it up, which you did, and it did. just writing this as a warning measure. write caching works to clear up the bottleneck at your hdd, but without a ups and/or sys restore it can seriously take your data to a near irrecoverable state.

someone tell me if im off base.

mewa

[GT]Snipen

• Stingray
« Reply #24 on: October 22, 2008, 04:10:05 AM »
Well I was having an issue but have resolved it, However I'll go ahead and post the problem and the fix I found after hours of trying to fix it. This may help someone else.

My external hard drive which works off USB stopped working or should I say stop being  recognized when I connected it , it said device unknown and not recognized or something like that. This happened after an update so I tried to uninstall what I had installed but that didn't work. By the way it works on my other PC.

Here's most of the stuff I've tried to do to fix it, but didn't work: