Author Topic: Faster downloading?  (Read 1434 times)

OmnificienT

• PGP
Faster downloading?
« on: April 09, 2006, 01:11:14 PM »
One thing that really bothers me in Q2, so also in Paintball, is the slow downloading of new maps. I know a regular Q2 bsp is about 300 kb or more. but a download takes more than a few minutes to complete! I suppose higher speeds are possible with broadband.. So an advice: Change the downloading protecol.

I'm happy to give any help you need, I'm not a good programmer dough, still learning VB .NET.

Thank you and Greetings,

OmnificienT

JR

• Stingray
Re: Faster downloading?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 01:55:53 PM »
A few minutes ain't so bad,  It's a good time to puff one down before the acrion begins.

StriFe

• PGP
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2006, 04:42:41 PM »
If there's a map I don't have I just exit dpb and get it from http://dpball.com/files/maps/

bitmate

• Autococker
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2006, 02:07:04 AM »
But not every map is on that website.
Well, on the other side, every map which is worthy to have, is on that website ::)

jitspoe

• Administrator
  • Autococker
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2006, 02:16:46 PM »
It's on the todo list.  I actually started implementing it, but never finished.

toM|vendettA

• 68 Carbine
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2006, 09:59:22 PM »
Jits, here is a possibility maybe...

Have a dedicated server stricltly for downloading maps and make the download speed not capped.. When you dont have a map the game switches from your normal server to the dl server, dls the map at normal speeds, then reconnects you to the normal server. From what I understand, the only reason there so slow is so that it doesnt lag the players that are playing on the server, but if there is no one playing on the d/l server, then theres no lagging them.

Would that work?

OmnificienT

• PGP
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2006, 11:46:14 AM »