Author Topic: please be intelligent  (Read 1840 times)

Herron

• VM-68
please be intelligent
« on: April 10, 2006, 03:19:04 PM »
So I began mapping last night at 2:30 am and I successfully built a room with 4 walls, a floor, a sky, and some weird floating box that was[n't] intentional.  But you know what else I did right that more and more map makers today don't?

** I MADE THE SPAWNS FACE THE RIGHT DIRECTION.  Nothing is more annoying to me than facing the wrong way when you spawn.  That's .25 seconds I could be moving forward and rushing to the middle... and what's worse, is usually these maps have the following problem as well...

** I didn't make stupid piles of gear that sometimes don't spawn on time if you start the round immediately running forward, and therefore you magically don't get a gun or hopper, or by chance pick up the ammo before the hopper and end up with only 40 ammo which then screws everyone else over because I'm a newbie and I run over all the other piles, sometimes while shooting my gun to change my co2 because I don't know any better.  Instead, I made my guys SPAWN WITH THE EQUIPMENT THAT YOU'RE OBVIOUSLY SUPPOSED TO PICK UP.  It was surprisingly easy.  Personally, I prefer maps where you have to go pick up the guns away from the spawn, but if you're absolutely dead set on everyone spawning with/ontopof equipment, please just make them spawn with it.

Now it's time to make that weird floating box go away...

KnacK

• Global Moderator
  • Autococker
Re: please be intelligent
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2006, 03:21:32 PM »