Author Topic: Autobalance command?  (Read 3728 times)

SnooD

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 234
Autobalance command?
« on: June 28, 2013, 04:17:30 AM »
I didn't want to have to do this but, I can't seem to figure out the autobalance command and it's starting to get under my skin. I've tried numerous variations of the command from what I think it might be but I'm just not getting it. Also the forcejoining command isn't working in game but it could be because the autobalance is on too. Anyway here is my server config. Help would be much appreciated, thanks.
PS: I did take out what was underneath the "Match" section because I was reading a different forum and someone said it might help.

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// GENERIC SERVER INFO
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

set hostname " Match 1"
set website "http://www.____" s
set admin "SeQuAL - Shep" s
set e-mail "" s
set location "USA" s

set public 1 // set to 0 if you don't want this on the public server list
set password "" // Password required to connect

setmaster dplogin.com master0.gamespy.com

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// MESSAGE OF THE DAY
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

set motdfile pball/configs/motd.txt

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// ROTATION
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

set rot_file pball/configs/rotation.txt

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// GENERAL SETTINGS
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

set autojoin off
set ffire 0
set grenadeffire 0
set timelimit 20
set fraglimit 50
set elim 60 // time (in seconds) before players respawn
set gren_explodeonimpact 0
set deadtalk 0 // set to 1 to allow dead players to talk to living
set sv_maxvelocity 4096
set swear_filter 0
set sv_votemapenabled 0
set idle 80 // time (in seconds) before idle players are put on observer
set guntemp_inc 0
set maxclients 16
set flagcapendsround 0
set floodprotect 0
set deadtalk 1



// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// MATCH SETTINGS
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------



// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// CONSOLE LOGGING
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
//
// logfile
// -------
// 0 - Disable console logging.
// 1 - Buffered logging.  File is wiped each server restart.
// 2 - Continuous logging.  File is wiped each server restart.
// 3 - Continous logging.  File is appended.

set logfile 3

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// STANDARD LOGGING
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

// sl_logging
// ----------
// bit 1, val | 1 : display STDLogging to console
// bit 2, val | 2 : log STDLogging to sl_logfile
// bit 3, val | 4 : send UDP packets to server defined IPs (DISABLED)

// sl_logfile
// ----------
// the file to put the STDlog info in.
// # will be replaced with the PORT number of the server

// set sl_logging 2
// set sl_logfile server#.log

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// DOWNLOAD OPTIONS
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

set allow_download         1
set allow_download_maps    1
set allow_download_models  1
set allow_download_sounds  1
set allow_download_players 1

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
// OPERATOR SETTINGS
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------

// Use "login password" at the console to obtain op status of said level
// Commands are restricted by level in commands.cfg
set numpasses 5
set oppass1      ""
set oppass1level 1
set oppass2      ""
set oppass2level 50
set oppass3      ""
set oppass3level 100
set oppass4      ""
set oppass4level 150
set oppass5      ""
set oppass5level 200

rcon_password ""
set oppass1level 1
set oppass2      ""
set oppass2level 50
set oppass3      ""
set oppass3level 100
set oppass4      ""
set oppass4level 150
set oppass5      ""
set oppass5level 150

rcon_password ""


Rick

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2190
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 04:43:11 AM »

T3RR0R15T

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2593
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 05:48:23 AM »
You can delete everything after the first rcon_password "" in the config file. That are the same settings like above.


For the autobalance, you have to add this:

set g_autobalance 0
0 = no autobalance
1 = autobalance
2 = autobalance and don't allow team changes


The forcejoin command works for me, but sometimes the game switches the player back to the old team (immediately). So it may look like it doesn't work, but you should see the team change message in the console.


Some other things, i would add to a match server:

set sv_login 2
0 = no logins required
1 = require logins for registered names
2 = require logins for all players

set g_autorecord 1
0 = no automatic demo recording
1 = forces demo recording on clients
2 = forces demo recording on clients, when the server is passworded

set g_autorecord_prefix "snood_match1_"
Prefix, that replaces the text "auto_" in front of a demo filename. Use it to find the demos of your server easier.

SnooD

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 234
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2013, 12:22:00 PM »
Thanks t3rr0r15t but it's still not working for me, maybe I put these commands in the wrong place? I put them under general settings in the myserver.cfg and in the matchmode.cfg too. Whenever I go to join blue, it says invalid team. If I forcejoin someone blue they come red...I'm so confused....this really shouldn't be this complicated.

I even executed the matchmode.cfg and it keeps saying unkown command "0"
unknown command "1"
unkown command "0"
 etc.

pretty much all the variables that you just gave me.

When I remove this:


set g_autobalance 0
0 = no autobalance
1 = autobalance
2 = autobalance and don't allow team changes

then I can join the blue team, but the autobalance is still on...
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 12:45:57 PM by SnooD »

SuperMAn

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 902
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2013, 01:32:59 PM »
The command is set g_autobalance #

You have to replace # with either 0, 1, or 2.  He was just explaining what each setting does.

T3RR0R15T

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2593
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2013, 02:20:31 PM »
Yes, try this only:

set g_autobalance 0
set sv_login 2
set g_autorecord 1
set g_autorecord_prefix "snood_match1_"


Normally you never need to execute the matchmode.cfg on a match-only server. All settings from the normal config should work fine. Where you put the commands in the config file doesn't matter. Change the config, upload and exec it. Thats all.

SnooD

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 234
Re: Autobalance command?
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2013, 11:31:25 AM »
Oh, haha I see. Well thanks so much guys I'll give it a try, I'm sure it will work.