Author Topic: Change handedness in game  (Read 4023 times)

pinobot

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 146
Change handedness in game
« on: October 03, 2005, 06:06:25 AM »
would be nice to change the weapen from the left to the right hand to more easily shoot while crouched behind barrels and stuff.

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 06:38:48 AM »
You can write a script that will do that.

The best place to learn to write scripts is probably www.planetquake.com/console

Hobo

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 166
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2005, 08:11:12 AM »
  Hmmm... I followed that link... that guy is good at typing his name... that's about it. I didn't look at every autoexec.cfg he wrote but most didn't have much if any to look at in them.  I was expecting to see something more like: http://www.planetquake.com/capthebind/alias.htm

  I think pinobot is requesting that weapon hand changing be added in the setup menu.  Until that happens I'll repeat the alias which I use:

bind x "change2"
alias change2 "hand 2;bind x change0"
alias change1 "hand 3;bind x change2"
alias change0 "hand 1;bind x change1"


pinobot

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 146
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2005, 09:02:38 AM »
Thanks for the link.
Never done this before but i found it.
bind CTRL hand 1
bind KP_INS hand 0
bind END hand 2
:)

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2005, 10:17:49 AM »

pinobot

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 146
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2005, 10:56:19 AM »
bind leftarrow "+moveleft;hand 1"
bind rightarrow "+moveright;hand 0"

 ;D

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2005, 05:23:01 PM »
Now that's just a bad idea.

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2005, 06:20:35 PM »
Chang hands via menu....hmmmm now thats newb friendly.!!!!!

DO IT...!! DO IT...!!!

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2005, 06:32:42 PM »
Loial, just learn the meddling console commands.

Hobo

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 166
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2005, 11:14:56 PM »
HAHAHA  muhahaha!!

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2005, 06:02:44 PM »
WHy should I? Its not fair to others who dont know how or dont know the advantage of usign this. Is that what you want a group of players that know and a group of players that dont know? Most games give you a slight lean and now that Jitspoe has kindly mentioned that there is such a thing, Logical speaking, for the sake of players that dont know the console cmds (or refuse to learn them) it would be kind of the devolper to have them in the game menu as much as possiable, something you need to think about.

From a players point-of-view (not just this game) console binding sucks. THEY meddling SUCK!!!

That is alll. :)

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2005, 07:55:18 PM »
console binding doesn't suck. It rules. You people and your newb-ness.

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2005, 10:35:46 PM »
GJ EIO

Thank you, for making my point for me and completely ignoreing my point, thus making my point stonger all at the same time.

WHAT!?!?!? lol

Ah but who cares :)

Its not as if someone is going to read this, that cares about fairness in this game and post a postive responce.




jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2005, 12:02:22 AM »
Handedness is an option in the menu.  Putting options for hundreds of different configurations, aliases, and whatnot will just make it a convoluted mess, not newbie friendly.

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2005, 01:13:52 AM »
Thanks.

Being able to lean (change hands) and fire while Crouching,walking and or running is a convoluted mess?

Not newbie friendly?

Think on this,

Imagine the newb binding via an ez 2 use gui intferace, rather than manually typeing commands and then binding them. Which is less newb friendly? To me its the ez to use interface..... again your not giving the average user a chance against Bob, Uni and even Ganja, People that have earned my scorn and respect.

Remeber the knocks about this being a instagib-hyperblaster q2 mod. That pissed me off!

No revelence, but true.

OUT!!!

XtremeBain

  • Developer
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1470
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2005, 06:42:58 AM »
Being able to lean (change hands) and fire while Crouching,walking and or running is a convoluted mess?

When I want to do this I just hold the shoot button and press the appropriate button(crouch, walk, run, jump).  I know using two buttons at once(aka multi-tasking) takes some practice, but once you get your head around it, it gets simpler.

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2005, 08:23:44 AM »
Loial- YOU DO NOT GET BETTER BECAUSE OF USER INTERFACE. JUSE USE CONSOLE COMMANDS.

How many times will I have to talk to you in caps lock about this?

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2005, 06:56:04 PM »
Loial- YOU DO NOT GET BETTER BECAUSE OF USER INTERFACE. JUSE USE CONSOLE COMMANDS.

How many times will I have to talk to you in caps lock about this?
I UNDERSTAND YOU. What I dont understand is why there is not a menu option to help newbs and me ;)

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2005, 08:42:50 PM »
Because, as jits said, that would make the menu too cluttered and confusing.

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Change handedness in game
« Reply #19 on: October 10, 2005, 05:45:33 PM »
No more so than having a 100 + comands to bind and combind manually? That make no sense.