Author Topic: Question for Jitspoe  (Read 6267 times)

SoftCoder

• PGP
Question for Jitspoe
« on: January 09, 2009, 11:20:57 PM »
Hello Jitspoe. My family and I have enjoyed playing DP2 for a few years now (we play locally on our LAN). My children took it upon themselves to learn BSP and making models, scripting etc. They have made many interesting maps and we enjoy the gaming experience. I know this question has been asked in different ways by different people, but I want to try again:

Is there any way to get more people access to the closed source code so that more people can work on the ever growing feature list? I am a professional C++ developer with over 15+ years experience willing to put some time into this project, only if I have the assurance that this project isn't solely a one man show. I don't care about credit, just to add to the enjoyment of the experience my children would get from enhancing the game.

I have contacted you in the past about other updates I made to the code that is open source to add plugin support but it was ignored. Since then not much has changed in the game and in the community. I believe this community could thrive if more people were allowed to be part of the coding effort. A full open sourcing of the code would help to accomplish that. Worries about cheat detection could be discussed and dealt with but it would all start with a willingness to open up the project to others.

I think that getting people involved is key to the future of this community, new content and new development ideas together would take DP2 to the next level.

What do you say Jitspoe?

Garrett

• Autococker
Re: Question for Jitspoe
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 12:19:03 AM »
http://dplogin.com/dplogin/featurevote/feature.php?id=10076

This will help accomplish what you are looking for.  There are a handful of community members who are working on some of the feature requests.