Author Topic: Hud modification  (Read 4243 times)

Squiffy101

• PGP
Hud modification
« on: March 28, 2011, 05:28:38 AM »
Hello everyone.

New to the site and have a question.  I have checked already on the site and found interesting discussions about HUD modification but no definitive answer.

I'm a network tech for a school in Devon.  We're a church school which means that all the management are religious.  I've been wanting to run a league/knockout fps for the students for years, but being a church school, blood and guts, mass killing and swearing are an absolute no!

I came across this game when another school tech told me about it and we love it.  Simple design, runs smoothly (even on the naff junk some of our suites have).  It has everything we wanted (plus it's free although we're the types of tech that will always try and donate when free software works :-))

My only dilemma is that the word "Kills" appears on the HUD.  I can remove any sound files management might find a touch close to the mark but I just know that if I show them the game and it says kills, they'll put the brakes on the idea an that will be the end of it.  They'll never consider letting us run anything like this again.

I know there were many comments along the lines of "don't get hung up on the word kills, it's not important" but I hope you can see why I'm stuck.

Most of the posts were quite old and a few mentioned the "wishlist" were customisable HUDs were a suggested option.

Is there anyone that could help me?  I want to keep it on our private network, so we'd never go out on the net with it.  I'm also a network tech with some graphic design experience but I have no knowledge of coding/vbs so if someone could spell out what to do in laymans terms, that would be great. (If it's at all possible).

Many thanks in advance for any replies

payl

• 68 Carbine
Re: Hud modification
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 07:59:11 AM »