Author Topic: How to remove iCodecPack  (Read 734 times)

IronFist

• Autococker
How to remove iCodecPack
« on: September 14, 2006, 02:58:31 PM »
I really wanted to post this at the andandtech forums, but something is mega-screwed - both accounts I have there won't work in IE, FF, or opera, and one is uber-brand-new. Sigh, I just need to post it here so it gets found by google - it was written for someone else because google lacked any info. Locking it would be nice, heh.

-------------------------------------------------------------
how to remove installed spyware with "iCodecPack":

You might fare better with trial versions of other commercial scanners, but I have no experience with any.

Removing spyware manually can be quite troublesome - some spyware is as easy as locating the exe's process, killing it, and deleting the file. Some embed themselves in windows quite well (most commonly, having themselves loaded into explorer.exe). I've decided to just install icodepack myself, seeing as this is a fun challenge (although I should not be lazy -- instead, I should go use VMWare on my desktop system to safely install it without infecting my laptop!). Here we go:

I like how you get "Virus-Burst" with this, which immediately identifies several real trojans, including the stuff that came with icodepack. Removal time...

1) "Virus Burst" nicely includes a formal uninstaller that ...almost... removes itself
- After running uninstaller, make sure you alt+ctrl+del > processes tab > end task "virus-burst.exe"
- Delete the folder C:\Program Files\Virus-Burst

2) C:\Program Files\iCodecPack\unist.exe exists, but it tells you to reboot first. I don't really want to, and I'm betting it just does that every time in hopes of you going away.
- C:\Program Files\iCodecPack contains plenty of EXEs and DLLs, which are currently in use.