Author Topic: Starting A Server  (Read 5665 times)

Butcher

  • PGP
  • Posts: 6
Starting A Server
« on: May 09, 2004, 10:27:38 AM »
Is there a dedicated server option for WIndows?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2004, 10:40:14 AM by Butcher »

Fryth

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 242
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2004, 11:42:08 AM »
Yes. I am working on a server guide but it's not done yet. Here's the alpha version:

1. System and bandwidth requirements

Bandwidth requirements for Paintball 2 are lower than most online games. Each user will consume about 30 kilobits per second (that's about 3 Kilobytes) – slightly more during lots of action. However, ping times are important, and most cable modems/DSL connections will not provide sufficiently low latency for hosting game servers.

System requirements are also low. A server running Windows 98 or above (NT/2K/XP recommended) should have 128 MB of RAM and a 300 mhz processor. System requirements in Linux are slightly lower.

2. Software

For Windows, you will need the paintball2 standalone distribution, and any maps you want to throw in.

For Linux, you will need the paintball2 standalone distribution for Windows and id's Quake2 linux server. Install id's Quake2 server into the paintball2 directory. You will need maps here as well.

2.Configuration

Locate the server.cfg file in the pball/configs directory (paintball2 standalone) or pball directory (Quake2 mod). Read every line of this file carefully. The Generic Server Info section contains the information you will see in your server browser. The Message of the Day and Rotation files should be edited as well, more on that later. Uncomment the logging lines if you want logging. Below the logging options, you will see the game settings, beginning with the paint and smoke grenade count.

A brief explanation of the important variables:

Autojoin – Determines whether players will be assigned to teams on connect. Can be normal or off.

Ffire – Friendly fire. Should be off.

Grenadeffire – Determines whether your own grenades can kill you and your teammates.

Public – If this is set to 1, server will periodically contact the planetquake master server and insert itself into the public server list.

Tripping – This was an experimental way to curtail bunny hopping. It's annoying. Leave it  at 0!

Real_ball_flight – Causes paintballs to shoot in random directions unless you have a barrel.

Ball_addplayerspeed – If set to 1, causes your velocity to be added to the velocity of any paintballs you shoot.

Elim – Elimination time in seconds.

Cursing – If set to 0, the humourous swear filter is activated.

Bouncy – If set to 1, paintballs bounce instead of break.

Deadtalk – If set to 0, eliminated players' chat will not be heard by alive ones.

Don't forget to edit rotation.cfg, the maplist file.

3. Running the server

NOTE: The Linux build of Quake2 requires a library called glibc. To see if you have it, type ldd quake2 at your shell prompt. Your distribution's package manager will contain a glibc package; it is up to you to locate and install it.

For Windows, go to the Run dialog and type the following:

C:\path_to_paintball\paintball2.exe +set dedicated 1 +set maxclients 12 +exec server.cfg +map battle

(Obviously you may replace 'battle' with any starting map, and maxclients can be any value.)

In Linux, go to your quake2 directory and type the following:

NOTE: The & at the end of the command line indicates that the server will run in the background and all the console messages will be hidden. If you are starting the server for the first time, or if you are running in a desktop environment such as X Windows or KDE that supports multiple shell windows open at once, you may want to omit the & sign.

./quake2 +set game pball +set deathmatch 1 +set dedicated 1 +set maxclients 12 +exec server.cfg +map battle &

You should now be able to connect to your server.

Note: It is not recommended to run both the client and the server on the same computer.

4. Shutting Down the Server

If the server is not running in the background (ie, it has a window of its own), activate the window and type 'quit' or press Ctrl-C.

If the server is running in the background (ie, you used the & sign on a Linux machine), type 'ps' in the shell and press Enter to get a list of processes. Locate quake2 and remember its process ID. Then type 'kill <id>', replacing <id> with the process ID.

Butcher

  • PGP
  • Posts: 6
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2004, 01:44:36 PM »
Cool! Thanks alot man!

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2004, 02:32:34 PM »
hm...when running a widows server, is there any way to make it run in the backround? like in the system tray?

Fryth

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 242
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2004, 02:51:28 PM »
No, but you can get a program called FireDaemon (google it), which allows you to run any program as a service, and for running just one service, it's free. Alternatively the Windows NT Resource Kit contains a utility called srvany that accomplishes the same thing, but I wasn't able to track it down.

RAW

  • PGP
  • Posts: 1
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2004, 05:00:48 AM »
i started a server but my friend couldn't detect it.
why?

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2004, 11:16:11 AM »
LAN servers will show up automatically, but if you're connecting over the internet, you have to manually type in the ip (ie: "connect 12.34.56.78").  If you set up a permanent server, I can add it to the list and it will show up for everyone.

Rocker

  • Guest
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2004, 02:58:49 PM »
where does it say the server #

Fryth

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 242
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2004, 11:37:45 AM »
To obtain your IP, go to www.whatismyip.com.

But frankly if you do not know the simple facts of networking like how to obtain your own IP, you are probably not qualified to be running a server. Sorry.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2004, 11:38:15 AM by admin »

NeRoToXeN

  • PGP
  • Posts: 5
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2005, 06:36:57 PM »
hey im new at the server thing and i wanna host a game everynow and then so i just need to know some of the server cmds in the dedicated "black box" thing.... thanks

IronFist

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1304
_
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2005, 07:39:48 PM »
Post removed
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 11:29:03 PM by IronFist »

SdC.Captin

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 118
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2005, 07:42:31 PM »
Well i too was in you situation!
To talk to players in the sever from the console (black box) type say exe: say hi there how is the game going?
to get  all the player ip adresses type sv listip
exe:sv listip
 Filterlist:(ips go here)
To add a ip to the ban list type sv addip exe:
sv addip 12.34.56.77:34344
To remove ips from the ban list type sv removeip
exe: sv removeip 12.34.56.77:34344
To find out the admin passes you have set type oppass1
Exe: oppass1 (to get the pass for level 1)
oppass2 (for level 2)

Please correct anything I have mistyped or did worng!
Note: iv never gotten sv listip to show ip's it says filter list then nothing else

SdC.Captin

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 118
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2005, 07:46:36 PM »
NeRo, in your case, it would probably be better to start the in-game server option rather than dedicated. Standard consumer broadband connections can't handle more than 4 players without lag.

I have broadband and if im correct lower ping is bette,r right? Well my server has the lowest ping off all of the public server (GOD pub server) and i run of from time warner Cabel inter net RoadRunner.
Tip if you want to run a server off from a Cable or Dsl connection: If you run a dedicated public server (like mine) then your modem gets HOT! I learned that a hot modem makes the server laggy and slow. If you can put it near a floor vent if you have central air,a air conditioner of blow a fan on it it will gratly inprove your server ping! ;)
Come winter idk what im goin to do about the modem heat  :o

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2005, 01:55:34 AM »
LAN servers will show up automatically, but if you're connecting over the internet, you have to manually type in the ip (ie: "connect 12.34.56.78"). If you set up a permanent server, I can add it to the list and it will show up for everyone.


Despite that map rotation? :)

Good sub t1 servers should be in a dark cold place and no more than 10 players.

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2005, 02:05:12 AM »
That's an old quote. It's changed now... It automatically updates. But it doesn't seem to. Oh well.

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2005, 04:52:24 PM »
It ignores my questions.

IronFist

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1304
_
« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2005, 05:43:06 PM »
Post removed
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 11:17:20 PM by IronFist »

captin

  • Guest
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #17 on: July 14, 2005, 12:15:27 AM »
um ya iv seen mine at friends houses too so its around 7 there

loial21

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2005, 12:28:39 AM »
Jitpoe does the following post help or is friedly
 to nwebs?

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Starting A Server
« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2005, 11:46:27 AM »
There is no following post... well, now that I'm making one, there is.  And yes, It'll be nweb friedly.  Watch this:

Burn, nwebs!  In the deep fryer!

Now, if you were asking if the preceding posts were newbie friendly, I'd say yes.  Somebody asked for help, and people gave detailed and helpful responses.