Author Topic: Build 18 Server Issues  (Read 3319 times)

KiLo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2086
Build 18 Server Issues
« on: May 16, 2007, 06:59:38 PM »
I know lekky and myself have had problems with our servers showing up since build 18 was realeased. I finally got it to where my server shows up on the list when I start it. Instead of me having to enter setmaster dplogin.com through rcon every time.

The way that I found is to make the config look like this:

Code: [Select]
setmaster dplogin.comYes just the one setmaster alone.

where as the original looks like this:

Code: [Select]
setmaster dplogin.com
setmaster q2master.planetquake.com
setmaster master0.gamespy.com

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2007, 07:46:13 PM »
master0.gamespy.com and q2master.planetquake.com are both the same server, so that might be part of the problem.  If you delete one of those, it will probably be fine.  The gamespy servers are necessary if you want your server to show up in other browsers like gamespy, ASE, HLSW, etc.

lekky

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2449
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 07:50:08 PM »
does it make any difference which one of those we delete?

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 07:52:30 PM »
They both point to the same IP, so it doesn't matter.

lekky

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2449
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2007, 07:54:18 PM »
ok thanks :)

lekky

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2449
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2007, 03:16:49 PM »
still not worknig for me :/ I have to type it through rcon to get it to work.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2007, 06:07:13 PM »
When you start the server, does it say it's sending a heartbeat to 70.85.9.178?

lekky

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2449
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2007, 06:14:31 PM »
its a dedicated server so i cant see the console log. I did an rcon exec config after making the changes to the config file.

y00tz

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2742
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2007, 10:46:50 PM »
When you start the server, does it say it's sending a heartbeat to 70.85.9.178?

Jitspoe, my server was working fine after I updated to 18, but when I restarted I couldn't get it to show up again.  I changed my config to just the dplogin.com, but it never says it's sending a heartbeat to 70.85.9.178:27900, what's up?

Thanks

Edit:
After two hours of running and right after I posted this, it  sent the heartbeat.  Sorry for wasting everyone's time.

Krizdo4

  • PGP
  • Posts: 43
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2007, 06:23:59 PM »
I had a similar problem until I realized on the command line to start the server it was trying to exec the wrong .cfg file.

KiLo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2086
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2007, 09:29:11 PM »
I'm still having problems with it. Sometimes when it starts it appears on the serverlist and then other times it is no where to be found.

y00tz

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2742
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2007, 09:38:42 PM »
I'm still having problems with it. Sometimes when it starts it appears on the serverlist and then other times it is no where to be found.

Ditto.

KiLo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2086
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2007, 10:00:35 PM »
Now I have a new problem. When the server starts and it is not on the list I enter setmaster dplogin.com. So then it heartbeats. Then a couple hours later I will check the console and the server will not be heartbeating to dpltogin.com.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2007, 11:28:09 AM »
After looking at the code, it seems the setmaster command needs to be used once, with each parameter being a server, so you'd need to do:

setmaster dplogin.com master0.gamespy.com

OonSuomesta

  • PGP
  • Posts: 7
Re: Build 18 Server Issues
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2007, 06:26:10 AM »
After looking at the code, it seems the setmaster command needs to be used once, with each parameter being a server, so you'd need to do:

setmaster dplogin.com master0.gamespy.com

Thanks jits. I had the same problem and now I think it's fixed!