Author Topic: an odd happening while binding  (Read 2905 times)

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
an odd happening while binding
« on: June 19, 2007, 01:02:57 AM »
so i've been snooping around the forums and I found a few demos of someone doing doublejumps (on grave and shreds in particular, you may have watched them before) so i thought i'd try it out. well, i couldn't seem to make one happen, so i thought, "well i remember seeing someone say something about using a bind for doublejumping. i also remember other people saying the bind didn't help them, but I'll try it out and see for myself."

so up to the console i go:
Code: [Select]
bind mouse2 "+moveup;wait;-moveup;wait;+moveup;wait;-moveup"but then my spacebar bound to "+moveup" stopped working entirely. so i decided for some reason to add ";wait;" to the end of the mouse2 bind. so i did.
and i tried it. but did it jump at all? no.
instead it made me
Code: [Select]
say "242 4461050"... weird. but wait, that looks like a phone number, area code and all! hmm ... is it a bug reporting "feature" so that if it shows up, we're supposed to call jits and tell him? :D :D

so i took off the trailing ";" but this time it didn't seem to double jump at all... more like a single that made me wait a full second before pressing it again.
then i removed the last "wait" ...
(so by now we're down to "+moveup;wait;-moveup;wait;+moveup;wait;-moveup;")
and it gives me that same phone number again.

i'd just LOVE it if someone could come along and explain to me all the nuances i've just experienced.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2007, 02:00:02 AM »
You dont need the -moveup calls, as far as I know.
Try something like
Code: [Select]
bind mouse2 "+moveup;wait;wait;wait;+moveup"

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2007, 08:30:34 AM »
Code: [Select]
bind "SPACE" "+dj"
alias +dj "+moveup;10waits;-moveup;10waits;+moveup;10waits"
alias -dj "-moveup"
alias 10waits "wait;wait;wait;wait"

Thats from the scripts page on the Wiki.

The only thing you would need to change would be the first line.

b00nlander

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 784
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2007, 09:05:11 AM »
stop trying to give him different DJ-binds, his works just fine (I don't have such a bind, but according to the coding, it's fine...)
it's some strange error there, I guess you'll need jitspoe's help on that - you might want to tell a few more things about your system though: for example, if you are using windows or linux (I don't know how much the versions of DP differ, but there might be a problem with linux again :P).

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2007, 11:26:31 AM »
umm ok, i'm using windows xp, build 18, with an ati video card.
also, b00n, could it have something to do with putting multiple commands into an alias rather than straight into the binding?
or does it have to do with the multiple "wait"s?

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2007, 11:38:28 AM »
Just copy the script Zorch posted.

EDIT: Just tried the bind you made on the first post, and I didnt get that error.

DaRkNeSS

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 622
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2007, 11:47:46 AM »
You have to have a -moveup for every +moveup you have I think.

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2007, 11:53:42 AM »
thats only true if you're doing some complex bind with other stuff in it -- only the +command is required for simple one-command binds, as the engine will automatically execute the counterpart -command when the key is released.

so maybe jits can come along and give his input as to why Cobo can do it without errors, and whose phone number it is that i'm getting. ;)

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2007, 11:58:56 AM »
Perhaps you could post your config file? As for that number, I think the first number is referring to mouse2, but I dont know what the other number might be.

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2007, 12:36:54 PM »
ok, config file.

edit: just noticing the lines from the sniper pack in my config. i should try it out sometime just to see what it's like. :)

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2007, 12:49:18 PM »
I copy pasted your script and yeah, same thing happens.

EDIT: Ok, I fixed it on my computer. Try rebinding it again from the ingame console, just type:
Code: [Select]
bind "MOUSE2" "+moveup;wait;-moveup;wait;+moveup;wait;-moveup"

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2007, 01:50:08 PM »
so basically the mouse2 has to be in quotes?

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2007, 02:00:39 PM »
No, it doesn't. Try adding more waits.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2007, 02:09:44 PM »
more waits wont fix it, also, having it with quotes doesnt change anything really, the console will remove them anyway.

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2007, 03:24:52 PM »
so what you're saying is that what you told me worked (4 posts ago) is the exact same thing that i posted originally.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2007, 03:29:39 PM »
Yeah. Just try rebinding it. It worked for me.

b00nlander

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 784
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2007, 03:34:38 PM »
well, that script worked just fine for me - but when rebinding the mouse2-key to "+moveup", I had to restart paintball in order to make it work

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2007, 05:25:18 PM »
Well, this is a new one.  For me it printed out "242 4461626".  I also noticed that sometimes when you press the mouse button, it jumps, and sometimes it jumps when you release it.  Seems like it's trying to treat the whole string as a regular "+/-" command.

In the end, that bind isn't going to do what you want anyway.  I don't think you can do it correctly without an alias.  Even then, you're better off just learning how to double with a regular +moveup bind, as you have a lot more control, and it works better once you've practiced it enough.

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: an odd happening while binding
« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2007, 05:39:56 PM »
yay! you're here!
i'm sure it just has to be an alias.
but those double jumps sure are tricky, 'specially when you throw in the strafing part. but i still don't know how some people out there can jump 1/4 mile from one double jump. "speed" you might say, but how do you go from 0-20mph in 0.1 sec? cuz it seems like that's the case from demos i've seen.