Author Topic: new map: "Warehouse" beta 1  (Read 7782 times)

Savage

• PGP
new map: "Warehouse" beta 1
« on: May 23, 2005, 02:37:44 PM »
Hello,

this is my first map for dp (and my first map for the Q2 engine).

I have no experience with item placement - you may find it highly flawed. The layout of this map is very simple - I started mapping this thing yesterday.

Feedback appreciated.

http://savage747.sa.funpic.de/warehouse.html

(ZIP includes .bsp and .map - I intend to release it GPL'ed once finished)

Savage

P.S.

I know the name of this map sucks ;)

IronFist

• Autococker
_
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2005, 06:15:12 PM »
Post removed
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 11:33:35 PM by IronFist »

Dirty_Taco

• Map Committee
  • Autococker
_
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2005, 10:20:01 PM »
Post removed
« Last Edit: July 26, 2010, 01:18:00 AM by Dirty_Taco »

Savage

• PGP
Re: new map: "Warehouse" beta 1
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2005, 02:04:02 AM »
Thanks for your encouraging comments.

The name "Warehouse" is badly chosen - it indeed is more a generig storage theme. I would love to include more details like some machinery but I have not seen anything fitting in the available textures (and I try not to ship with additional textures because it's hard to find GPLed ones).

Plus I have trouble keeping the polycount low. q2map really creates loads of small polygons (which may have something to do with my 0.5 default texture scale - q3bsp handles this much, much better). Nonetheless I managed to keep it below 1000 wpolys (usually 400-800). Judging from midnight2 I thought this would be okay.