Author Topic: Quake2 Mapping  (Read 2010 times)

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Quake2 Mapping
« on: October 02, 2007, 01:31:43 PM »
For my crappy game, I need some mapping help :-/

1. Is it possible to spawn monsters after a delay, repeatedly?

2. Is it possible to forcefully change the level as soon as every monster has been killed?

magalhaes

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1256
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2007, 02:43:59 PM »
Not another game with monsters :(

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 04:35:38 PM »
1- yes
2- only with engine modification.

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2007, 11:44:09 PM »
Care to tell me how you repeatedly spawn monsters Eiii?

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2007, 11:55:47 PM »
You're the one with the source code. :D I can't say I know exactly how to, but with the source to the game that's definitely possible.

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2007, 11:57:29 PM »
Odeaz. I meant do it in the map, but oh well. Time to get down to work, I suppose. >:D

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2007, 12:11:56 AM »
Then you just need to code a new entity.

EDIT: Wait, you can do that with a func_spawner and a timer.

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2007, 12:14:20 AM »
<3 Eiii

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2007, 02:35:13 PM »
there's a func_changelevel or something, but I don't think there's a way to tie that into which monsters have been killed.  It can be done from the game code, though.  No need to modify the engine.

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2007, 04:18:30 PM »
Oh, by engine I meant game code. Sorry, get those confused. >_>

Olbaid

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 731
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2007, 06:29:02 PM »
Viciouz, there is a mod called 'vortex' that you should check out.

http://vortex.planetquake.gamespy.com/wiki

It has a couple different game types, and one of them is called Player vs Monster.  Ask around on their forums, they are pretty friendly.

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2007, 12:59:15 PM »
I have everything sorted except I need to push the monster towards the player... Basically the monsters spawn in a dark area the players can't get to. They are facing the player but don't attack. How can the monster be made to attack or move towards the player as soon as it spawns?

bitmate

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1248
Re: Quake2 Mapping
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2007, 02:44:25 AM »
<lol>func_move_and_attack</lol>