Author Topic: Zoom function?  (Read 5836 times)

tyromaniac

  • PGP
  • Posts: 21
Zoom function?
« on: October 16, 2006, 05:22:29 PM »
would a Simple zoom function possible? maybe with right mouse click? Just a thought...

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2006, 05:35:32 PM »
there already is... you just have to put some extra stuff in the config file.

Smokey

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1172
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2006, 06:24:57 PM »
fov command aliases.

toM|vendettA

  • 68 Carbine
  • Posts: 335
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2006, 06:56:07 PM »
Code: [Select]
alias +zoom "fov 30;sensitivity 5"
alias -zoom "fov 90;sensitivity 10"
bind mouse2 +zoom
copy and paste that into your console, line by line.

tyromaniac

  • PGP
  • Posts: 21
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2006, 07:26:03 PM »
thankyou!!

coLa

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1178
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2006, 07:55:16 PM »
Code: [Select]
alias +zoom "fov 30;sensitivity 5"
alias -zoom "fov 90;sensitivity 10"
bind mouse2 +zoom
copy and paste that into your console, line by line.

edit the sensitivity to your playing style

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2006, 08:26:30 PM »
i like this setup better:

Code: [Select]
alias zoom0 "crosshair 1;fov 120;sensitivity 20;bind mwheelup zoom1"
alias zoom1 "crosshair 2;fov 70;sensitivity 10;bind mwheelup zoom2;bind mwheeldown zoom0"
alias zoom2 "fov 50;sensitivity 8;bind mwheelup zoom3;bind mwheeldown zoom1"
alias zoom3 "fov 30;sensitivity 6;bind mwheelup zoom4;bind mwheeldown zoom2"
alias zoom4 "fov 10;sensitivity 4;bind mwheeldown zoom3"

but thats just me...

coLa

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1178
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2006, 08:51:09 PM »
it just all depends on how you like to play

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2006, 08:57:01 PM »
God, we get a thread like this every few months. We need a sticky to answer questions like this, or at least point people to where they can get an answer.

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2006, 09:03:00 PM »
aren't those called FAQ's?

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2006, 10:14:20 PM »
Not on forums. Though, yes, the questons are frequently asked.

P!nk

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 948
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2006, 10:25:59 PM »
We could revive this thread and request more Q/A's, then have another one locked/stickied for all of them.

tyromaniac

  • PGP
  • Posts: 21
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2006, 08:20:29 PM »
Yeah, and maybe a list of a bunch of commands for the cosole as well, maybe within the zipped game file

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2006, 08:25:09 PM »
Yeah, and maybe a list of a bunch of commands for the cosole as well, maybe within the zipped game file

go here and scroll down: http://digitalpaint.planetquake.gamespy.com/docs.html

Bix

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 720
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2006, 08:20:25 AM »
Zorch, if you search the forums for "spydies crosshair pack" you will find one that looks like a sniper scope. Might be cool for your zoom bind.

toM|vendettA

  • 68 Carbine
  • Posts: 335
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2006, 08:33:12 AM »
Yeah, it'll look cool, but thats about it. Most of the time when you zoom in it is cause someone is far away, when you want to shoot far away you have to aim higher to hit players, which means that the scope is basically pointless. Not to mention the fact that the scope takes up half the screen.

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2006, 08:37:41 AM »
my roomate played around with the chrosshairs, it looked neat... but thats about it. thanks anyway.

F3AR

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 115
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2006, 04:37:36 AM »
Code: [Select]
alias zoom0 "fov 120; bind f zoom1"
alias zoom1 "fov 70; bind f zoom2"
alias zoom2 "fov 50; bind f zoom0"

Thats mine, going into fov 30 and 10 seems stupid because the enemy would be out of screen for you to hit them.

Zorchenhimer

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2614
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2006, 08:33:06 AM »
30 and 10 for strategical reasons. not to kill him from across the map.

m7feettall

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 818
Re: Zoom function?
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2006, 09:07:13 PM »
Hm...now it all makes sense! I wondered how people were pulling off some of those shots.