Author Topic: DPRun  (Read 3753 times)

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
DPRun
« on: May 20, 2007, 12:35:31 AM »
This is a little program I made to be able to simply double click bsp files and it automatically opens the map in DP2.

Mainly I made this because I'm lazy and when I download maps I usually put them on the desktop, so now I can simply double click the file, check the map out, and delete the map if I don't like it :P

The zip has 2 files: DPRun.exe and a DPRun.cfg file. You need to put DPRun.exe in the same folder where paintball2.exe is and DPRun.cfg needs to go in the pball/config/ folder.

Only problem with this is that you'll need to set the bsp files to open with DPRun manually. To do this simply right click on a bsp file then click on properties and then you need to click on the 'Change' button and browse to DPRun.exe.

If you have any comments/suggestions/problems please post to let me know :)



*UPDATED May 22, 2007*
Changed DPRun from managed c++ to c.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 04:12:29 PM by Cobo »

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: DPRun
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 08:04:04 AM »
Yay! My random little naming technique is catching on! Anyway, this program is just what I need. Thanks!

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2007, 08:19:04 AM »
Yeah :) naming it like that just made sence, hehe.

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: DPRun
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2007, 08:29:01 AM »
How does this work... I have it set to open with DPRun but it says:


C:\games\paintball2\pball\maps\4thave.bsp

This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2007, 08:40:26 AM »
Did you put the executable on the folder where paintball2.exe is?
Also, you might need the .net framework since its written in managed code.

Edit:
.net runtime for x86 - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=0856eacb-4362-4b0d-8edd-aab15c5e04f5&displaylang=en
.net runtime for x64 - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=b44a0000-acf8-4fa1-affb-40e78d788b00&displaylang=en

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: DPRun
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2007, 08:46:10 AM »
I have the .net framework definitely, and I put it in the same folder as paintball2.exe.

Tried redownloading, didn't work.

TinMan

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1347
Re: DPRun
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2007, 11:30:24 AM »
Why not just make a batch file? XD

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2007, 03:13:35 PM »
Did you put the executable on the folder where paintball2.exe is?
You never answered that question, in your case, it should go directly on C:\games\paintball2\

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2007, 03:46:25 PM »
Ok, looks like I got it. in order to use the program you need to install this file. Its only 2mb...
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=32BC1BEE-A3F9-4C13-9C99-220B62A191EE&displaylang=en

ViciouZ

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2227
Re: DPRun
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2007, 08:56:47 AM »
Did you put the executable on the folder where paintball2.exe is?
You never answered that question, in your case, it should go directly on C:\games\paintball2\

and I put it in the same folder as paintball2.exe.

.

Anyway, still doesn't work.

Playah

  • 68 Carbine
  • Posts: 485
Re: DPRun
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2007, 05:29:41 AM »
What about making a programm to open up demos by doubleclicking in the explorer? Since we have autorecord and all demonames beginning with matchserver and YEAR (yea that's annoying since it's all 2007...) and we can't really see the whole demoname ingame, opening demos in the explorer would be very nice.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2007, 02:47:56 PM »
Since the "map" command works for opening both maps, and demos. you can use this program to open both. (If you get it to work)
Right now I was working on remaking the program on native c++, hopefully removing the problems.

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: DPRun
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2007, 04:13:21 PM »
Alright, I ported the whole source from managed c++ to plain 'ol c, hopfully removing the error.
The attachment was updated on the first post.

Edit:
I just figured something out... If the map isnt in the map folder it wont be able to open it... I could copy the map file, but I guess then it would be too much trouble... So I guess im gonna make a vote for the next release: full map paths.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 04:34:41 PM by Cobo »

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18802
Re: DPRun
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2007, 05:23:14 PM »
There are too many hard coded limits to add full map paths.

Eiii

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 4595
Re: DPRun
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2007, 06:43:25 PM »
Here be a single .bat file that can be placed anywhere, can run maps from anywhere, and retrieves pball's directory from the registry. You can drag-and-drop, or do the 'Open With...' thing.